The Flash Talks

The Flash Talks bring together leaders on diplomacy, technology, and Russian and U.S. culture with the playwrights, actors, directors and designers whose work is presented in the FLASH ACTS Festival. Together they will explore the artistic process of FLASH ACTS, the universal ideas that underpin its virtual stage, and the role creative collaborations can play in dispelling age-old myths and forging mutual understanding.

Thursday October 8
12:30–1:00pm EDT / 19:30–20:00 MSK

Flash Talk

WELCOME AND OPENING REMARKS BY JOHN J. SULLIVAN, US AMBASSADOR TO THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Friday October 9
12:30–1:30pm EDT / 19:30–20:30 MSK

Flash Talk

DIGITAL DIPLOMACY: Cultural Exchange In The Age Of Covid

Featured Speakers

John J. Sullivan, U.S. Ambassador to the Russian Federation
Jon M. Huntsman Jr., Former U.S. Ambassador to the Russian Federation
John F. Tefft, Former U.S. Ambassador to the Russian Federation

Moderator

Lisa Dickey, Author, Bears in the Streets

John J. Sullivan
Jon M. Huntsman, Jr.
John F. Tefft
Lisa Dickey
Saturday October 10
12:30–1:30pm EDT / 19:30–20:30 MSK

Flash Talk

THE ART OF MEANING: A Conversation with Playwrights and Translators

Featured Speakers

Kia Corthron, Playwright, Penitence
Anna Sosnovskaya, Translator
Craig Lucas, Playwright, Representative
Dmitry Pobedash, Translator

Moderator
John Eisner, Artistic Director, The Lark

Kia Corthron
Craig Lucas
Dmitry Pobedash
Anna Sosnovskaya
John Eisner
Sunday October 11
10:00–11:00am EDT / 17:00–18:00 MSK

Flash Talk

FROM ISOLATION TO COLLABORATION: A Conversation with FLASH ACTS Playwrights

Featured Speakers

Deborah Brevoort, Playwright, The Gorn Galaxy
Nikolay Kolyada, Playwright,The Swan Princess
Mary Kathryn Nagle, Playwright, Post-Pre-Continued Contemporary Colonial Germocide
Yaroslava Pulinovich, Playwright, We Shall Live

Moderator

Boo Froebel, Producer and Creative Consultant

Deborah Brevoort
Nikolay Kolyada
Mary Kathryn Nagle
Yaroslava Pulinovich
Boo Froebel
Sunday October 11
12:30–1:30pm EDT / 19:30–20:30 MSK

Flash Talk

THE MIRROR IMAGE: A Conversation with Actors on Interpreting the Same Role

Featured Speakers

Anastasia Pan’kova, She in The Swan Princess (Russian Production)
Regina Aquino, She in The Swan Princess (U.S. Production)
Dmitry Plokhov, the Professor in Penitence (Russian Production)
Keith Randolph Smith, the Professor in Penitence (U.S. Production)

Moderator

Amanda Charlton, Director

Anastasia Pan’kova
Regina Aquino
Dmitry Plokhov
Keith Randolph Smith
Amanda Charlton
Sunday October 11
2:00–3:00pm EDT / 21:00–22:00 MSK

Flash Talk

THE FRAME AS THE STAGE: A Conversation with FLASH ACTS Directors

Featured Speakers

Jessica Kubzansky, Director, Why Does Maxim Get Killed First? (U.S. Production)
Natsu Onoda Power, Director, The Swan Princess (U.S. Production)
Delicia Turner Sonnenberg, Director, Remix of a Nation (U.S. Production)
Megan Sandberg-Zakian, Director, The Gorn Galaxy (U.S. Production)

Moderator

Seema Sueko, Associate Artistic Director, Arena Stage

Jessica Kubzansky
Natsu Onoda Power
Delicia Turner Sonnenberg
Megan Sandberg-Zakian
Seema Sueko
Monday October 12
12:30–1:30pm EDT / 19:30–20:30 MSK

Flash Talk

CRACKING THE ZOOM CODE: A Conversation with the Media Designer Behind FLASH ACTS

Featured Speaker

Jared Mezzocchi, Creative Director of Virtual Media Design, FLASH ACTS

Moderator

Maggie FitzPatrick, Corporate Affairs Executive

Jared Mezzocchi
Maggie FitzPatrick
Tuesday October 13
12:30–1:45pm EDT / 19:30–20:45 MSK

Flash Talk

THE POWER OF PARTNERSHIP: A Conversation with the Producers of FLASH ACTS

Featured Speakers

Mary McBride, Founder and Co-Executive Director, Forum for Cultural Engagement
Molly Smith, Artistic Director, Arena Stage
Derek Goldman, Co-Director Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics at Georgetown University
Anton Butakov, Artistic and Managing Director, Center for Contemporary Drama
Yury Shekhvatov, Producer/Director and Art Director, Lubimovka Young Playwrights Festival

Moderator

Aferdita Krasniqi, Outreach and Recruitment Officer for Europe and Eurasia
The Fulbright Program, Institute of International Education

Mary McBride
Molly Smith
Derek Goldman
Yury Shekhvatov
Anton Butakov
Aferdita Krasniqi