Russian Production


by Nina Belenitskaya
Language: Russian/With English Subtitles


russian production


by Nina Belenitskaya
Directed by Elena Nenasheva

with Petr Nesterenko, Yulia Volkova

Sound Design: Oleg Krokhalev
Costume Design: Sasha Ageeva
Director of Virtual Media Design: Jared Mezzocchi
English subtitles translated by Michael Smolenkov

Nina Belenitskaya (Playwright) is a playwright and screenwriter born in 1981 in Moscow.  She is a member of the Lubimovka Young Playwrights Festival Collective and a co-founder of the independent theater company Joseph Beuys Theater. Nina is a winner of the international drama competitions Free Theater, Eurasia, and the Russian drama contest Characters. Her plays have been produced in multiple international theater festivals.  Her work has been published in Russia, and translated into English, French and Polish.
Elena Nenasheva (Director) was born in Leningrad in 1987. She is a graduate of the Moscow Art Theatre School (class of Viktor Ryzhakov). In 2020 she was nominated for a Golden Mask Award. Selected works: Seagull Version, Lonely City, Distance Apart, POSLE, Trendsetters. She participated in such festivals as "Lubimovka," "New Drama," Alexander Volodin National Theatre Festival “Five Evenings,” "Our Theme." Elena also participated in the following international Theater Labs: Summer School of Theater in Kaposwar (Hungary), Russian Theatre Lab in Tallinn (Estonia), Theater Lab in Ilkhom (Uzbekistan).
Yulia Volkova (Client) was born in 1982 in Ostrogozhsk. In 2008 she graduated from the Department of Pop Music Performance in the Russian Institute of Theatre Arts. She is an actress and also performs songs in the 1960s style. Her credits include such productions as: Life Is Good, Orchestra, I'm Afraid of Love, The Grasshopper, This Child, Communicators, Liolya and Minka, Seagull Version. For performing the role of Arkadina in Seagull Version, Yulia was nominated for 2020 "Golden Mask" Award.
Petr Nesterenko (Courier) was born in Khabarovsk. In 2006 he graduated from Khabarovsk State Institute of Arts and Culture with the major in Theater Directing and Teaching. Since 2003 he has worked in Khabarovsk Young Spectator’s Theater.  In 2011 he participated in Russian Theatre Union summer school; in 2012 - in the Directing Lab headed by I.Lysov; in 2017-1018 - in S. Kruchkova’s and R. Markholia’s  Acting Lab. Pyotr’s credits include: Uncle Misha's Playlist, Brodsky. Ways to Read and Coffee Shop Owner (Young Spectators’ Theater); Ivan Vyrypaev’s Illusions (2017 Festival “Our Theme”), Ivan Vyrypaev's Solar Line (2018 Festival “Our Theme”), Broads. Question (Khabarovsk State Institute of Arts and Culture); Guardians of the Taj Mahal (Metadrama festival in Vladivostok) and many others.
Oleg Krokhalev (Sound Design) was born in Perm. In 2019 he graduated from Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory with the major in Composition (class of V.G.Tarnopolsky). He participated in such projects as SOTA (Golden Mask Institute, “Stanislavsky” Electrotheater), Performance (concerts on Trekhgornaya Manufactory), Underground Improvisation (commissioned by Berlin Academy of Arts), Suedseite Nachts (Stuttgart), Open Space Lab, (Young Composers Academy in Tchaikovsky). His compositions have been performed by such artists as Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble (MCME) , New Music Studio, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, New Russia Orchestra directed by Yuri Bashmet, ensemble Russia and others. Oleg writes music for many Russian theaters. Since 2020, he has served as the editor of the concert section of Your Leisure portal. He is a Curator of the music division of RemPut festival (November 1-4, 2020).
Sasha Ageeva (Costume Design) is a costume designer. She graduated from the School of Design in the National Research University Higher School of Economics with the diploma of "Artist for theater and film" (class of Anastasia Nefedova). She is in the art group apadakaladas. In 2019-2020 Sasha has been a design technician in “Stanislavsky" Electrotheater. She has worked with such directors as Elena Nenasheva, Sasha Denisova, Philip Grigoryan, Grigory Dobrygin, Dmitry Sergin, Fedor Levin and others.